Costume Prep – Mean Girls “Ex-Wife”

With Halloween approaching, I thought I would share some of my costume ideas.  I won’t call these tutorials, because honestly ANYONE can do these easy at home costumes. And that is my main goal for these posts.  YOU can make SIMPLE costumes AT home.

Alamo Drafthouse is a movie theater here in Lubbock that hosts events called MOVIE PARTIES every week.  Most of the time they are for classic movies.  A movie party includes in costume hosts, props, drink specials and you can interact with the screening.  I am a host at Alamo Drafthouse, so I dress up multiple times a month. It is truly my dream job!!

On October 3rd, Alamo Drafthouse did a movie party for MEAN GIRLS! It’s one of my favorite feel good films. I’m definitely more of a Janice than a Cady. I’ve hosted this film several times and it’s always a lot of fun.

I originally bought and destroyed this wedding dress from Goodwill for a Spaceballs movie party. And yes, I know Cady’s ex-wife costume has a full skirt and is covered in blood, but destroying 1 wedding dress for work seemed like enough. Plus, I love being thrifty and using costumes for multiple purposes.

FB_IMG_1570127136042

So to change this wedding attire from Princess Vespa to Cady Herron Ex-Wife I added a veil and some zombie-esque makeup. Again. . .I am definitely not a makeup artist. But some white cream makeup and black eyeliner goes a long way.

IMG_20191003_143605

The best part about this costume is despite how screen accurate, all fellow Mean Girls fans will get the reference!!

Add some zombie teeth and your best friend in pink. . .and you’ve got yourself a bonafide Ex-Wife/Zombie Bride Aaron Samuels stealing thrifted costume!!

received_1440969089412813

Leave a comment